Share A Soul From Lavanya

lavanya Lavanya Devanathan is a teacher by profession and is a mother of two. She takes of time for self introspection and respects every soul for what they are. Today she shares with us her views on mind, body and soul.

 A soul quest.

“na jayate mriyate va kadacin nayam bhutva bhavita va na bhuyah ajo nityah sasvato yam purano na hanyate hanyamane sarire”

“For the soul there is neither birth nor death at any time. He has not come into being, does not come into being, and will not come into being. He is unborn, eternal, ever – existing and primeval. He is not slain when the body is slain.” [Translation by A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada (Srila Prabhupada)]

“Energy can neither be created nor destroyed”. That is basically the basis of all that we study in science.

To me soul is that pure, pristine, unpolluted essence of you, me, and everything that may live or exist. If it is visible, it has soul. I really do not know all about this soul thing.I have not seen it…but I know I am…and there is no basic explanation of why I am and how I am and who I am…but I know I am.  What is it that makes who I am…how I see things..how I create my experiences…how I might make my understandings…because everyone that reacts or acts in similar situations are different. People say they think differently…due to different influencing factor. But then again I think why do they do so? Again people say that it is based on past experiences. Ok..if so then what made them do things the way they did for the first time?

Now even as I write this I know am deviating from the word soul. It’s not deviation , I think, its delving deeper…into a quest… a search to understand what could Soul probably mean…the meaning might be completely spiritual…or it might be scientific(if science believes in calling energy soul)…or it could just turn out to be a mystery…that has no answers…no boundaries….no definitions…but just the fact is that there is an unknown factor that stimulates life and without which the physical body is just Matter..!!

Leave a Reply

